top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelyonstype

LT Drink: Version 3

What's new in Version 3:

1.) Updated letters D, F, G, H, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, V, W, Y, q, v, w

2.) Updated swashes on capital letters

3.) Added tail-less "q" as a stylistic alternate

4.) Th and Coca-Cola ligatures now in the standard ligatures lookup

5.) Refined Cyrillic "ze" to connect with the letters before it


Some words from the creator behind the new and improved LT Drink:


"So recently, after doing a big search of Coca-Cola international logos in PDFs, I have discovered that there was actually a font inside of one of the annual reports of Coca-Cola Enterprises, Inc. from 2010-2014. The font's name in question is Cola Script. When I searched it up on Google for the actual font, I was only greeted with this piece that says "Cola Script Gives Refreshing Look With Pleasure". Reference from Photo-Lettering, Inc: Alphabet Yearbook (1977). As the next step, I tried looking everywhere, scanning through PDFs and other media, link by link, for the embedded, real-deal Cola Script font, but unfortunately, it was no use. I was too excited to see what the full alphabet of Cola Script would look, but the thing I mentioned earlier? I see it as... nothing special. However, there are a few international logos from Coca-Cola that I've collected. But if there's something I need to annotate here and there, it's one of the following... The upper tip of right stem on the G is a little too close to its upper terminal. And the N? I can't tell if it's just a unique stroke on the right side of it, or if the stroke of it was whether or not intentional, but I'll let it slide. The swash on the V is a bit too wide to make close contact with the left side of its curly stem. Sure, some V's are like that, but still. Lastly, believe it or not, the bottom curl of the L is a tad short. Because, by far, there is no "Cola Script" font that was designed by Bob Alonso for BA Graphics, I've made a major decision to make version 3 of LT Drink, with the letters I've just discovered in their international logos. And yes, I've made refinements too. Oh! And I also figured that somehow, the Coca-Cola international logos happen to have inconsistent letterforms that can come off contradictory. Say for example, the Coca-Cola European Union Group and Coca-Cola Enterprises Nederland B.V. That's where the consistency comes in. And to be fair, as much as Cola Script was created way before Loki Cola, American Pop, LT Drink, I feel like LT Drink could do much better looking at it now. Surprisingly enough, I was uncertain what I should do with LT Drink, whether to take it off from the LyonsType library or keep it. Even if there actually would be a real-deal/embedded Cola Script font, I'm pretty certain that I'll keep LT Drink in the LyonsType library, since there are a few Coca-Cola inspired typefaces too, like the ones I mentioned in the last few sentences. Oh, and that includes Rock And Cola. Thanks for taking the time to read."


To download the very recent version of LT Drink, click here: https://lyonstype.wixsite.com/home/drink

42 views

Recent Posts

See All

New LyonsType font: "Cushion"

LT Cushion is not only another rounded serif typeface, but it's also a revival of one of the Letraset fonts in 1974 (Salisbury Bold) that was never digitized. The differences between that and the newl

LT Drink. Updated & Refined.

Knowing how resentful I was with how LT Drink originally was designed, I decided to revamp it with an actual Coca-Cola letterform design - along with redesigned stylistic alternates, and better yet, i

New LyonsType font: Glockenspiel

"Glockenspiel" is a typeface that reflects on the art nouveau period in a unique magnitude, as well as the aesthetics of the 19th century. The typefaces also takes cues from the works of Herman Ihlenb

bottom of page